Lake Prize 2015 submissions are open!

The Lake Prize from Midwestern Gothic
We are so excited that submissions for this year’s Lake Prize are now open!

The Lake Prize offers annual awards for fiction and poetry that best represents the Midwest. The prize seeks to reward those who see the beauty of the region, whether that be quiet forests, gutted industrial wastelands, small towns or vibrant urban neighborhoods.

This year’s judges are Charles McLeod (Fiction) and Marcus Wicker (Poetry). Winning pieces (Fiction and Poetry) will receive $500 each + publication, while two runners-up in each category will receive $100 each + publication.


  • Writers should have lived in the Midwest at some time, and contest entries should be set in the Midwest.
  • $5 fee per entry (one story or group of up to 3 poems). Stories should not exceed 5,000 words.
  • All entries should be submitted through Submittable.
  • One entry per person. Judges will be reading and ranking finalists blind to determine the winners and runners-up.
  • Prizes awarded on publication.
  • Each category will award a single 1st prize and two finalists. Poetry will be awarded to a single poem in your submission.
  • Simultaneous submissions are welcome, but please notify us as soon as possible if a submission is taken elsewhere.
  • Friends, family and close associates (including students) of Midwestern Gothic editorial staff, contest readers and judges are ineligible. If you aren’t sure if you qualify, send us an email and ask.

For additional details, plus all guidelines, please visit the official Lake Prize page.

Looking forward to reading your work!

Leave a Reply